Christmas Question

While I know there are people who don’t believe in what Christians do regarding Christmas, I don’t get why they celebrate a religious holiday they don’t believe in. They say things such as, “Merry Christmas!” They want to get Christmas presents. I get that people want presents. I would like them daily, if possible, but I know that isn’t happening. I don’t comment on religious holidays/events I don’t participate in. So why do atheists or agnostics want to jump on the Christmas bandwagon?

I don’t want to get into the whole debate of winter solstice or any of that. I’m talking about people who make it a point to say things like, “Merry Christmas.” From what I know, for Christians Christmas is a celebration of Christ’s birth. They believe Jesus is Christ. Merry is a synonym for happy. So essentially when an atheist or agnostic says “Merry Christmas” they are saying “Happy Birthday, Jesus!”

I guess my point is stand by your convictions. Say what you mean and mean what you say. If you really are celebrating CHRISTmas, then do it. If you aren’t, don’t. But don’t commercialize a holiday that is already maxed out on commercialization all because you want presents.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Please feel free to leave your thoughts

