Innocent Until Proven Guilty

I thought that was supposed to be a standard in the United States. It’s not anymore. While I am glad we have news and social media online, I don’t like how people gang up and pretty much make some people out to be monsters without knowing the facts. For instance, I am sure many of you have heard the accusations against Bill Cosby. I don’t know the man personally and cannot speak of his character or any actions. But it seems that because several women have come out of the woodwork recently that the public has decided he must have done what he is being accused of doing. If he did do it, it is deplorable. I cannot even begin to say what I think about it if it is true. But that right there is my whole point…we don’t know if it is true or not! He hasn’t been tried in court over this. But he is being publicly tried and humiliated. He has been stripped of titles. He has lost employment. I’m not saying he didn’t do it, but I am saying that unless we are sitting on a jury and being forced to make that decision based on facts presented that maybe we shouldn’t be listening so closely to heresay and opinions.

Why do I feel so strongly about this? Because I was falsely accused of actions at work and was reprimanded because a group decided to make up lies. If I had done what they said, I would have deserved to be reprimanded. But the fact was I was being mistreated by all parties–the liars and the boss who just took someone’s word because she didn’t like me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life In General

Please feel free to leave your thoughts

